On the route at Givskud, the Hærvej goes through open farm land, dotted with copses and thickets, and south of Harresø Lake, it turns southeast to the old royal town of Jelling. Further on, the road goes past Fårup Lake, through the Vejle river valley towards Egtved valley and Bindeballe.
Givskud og Givskud Zoo
Some of the Hærvej trails south of Givskud are not accessible for either walkers or bicyclists, as they are in fact in Givskud Zoo, and access is restricted - for obvious reasons - to those in motor vehicles.
Harresø Kro, which dates from 1609, is one of the oldest preserved inns on the Hærvej. It was used by the many drovers on their journey south and the old travelling stalls can still be seen. There were other guests as well and Grundtvig’s regular table can still be seen.
The walking route goes to Jelling, which is one of the Hærvej’s main attractions and on the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage list.
Jelling Church lies between two enormous grave mounds. At the beginning of the 900’s, a 170 m long ship form was built, starting from one of the mounds. A second larger mound was built over the northern mound, presumably by King Harald Bluetooth and a grave chamber from around 958/59 has been found, which is said to be Harald’s father, King Gorm. The south mound was built much later and contains no grave chamber.
In between the two mounds are two rune stones, known as Denmark’s Birth Certificate. The large stone was erected by Harald Bluetooth, who according to the inscription on the rune, converted the Danes to Christianity. The smaller stone was found in the 1600’s and the inscription states “King Gorm raised this stone in memory of his wife Thyra, jewel of Denmark”. This is the first mention of Denmark by name.
Modern art and landscape melt together to form one unity in the quarry at Tørskind Grusgrav. Landscape sculptures are exhibited by Robert Jacobsen and Jean Clareboudt. Different light and the changing seasons, means that each visit brings a new artistic experience.
Part of the route through the Vejle river valley follows the old Vandel railway, which was closed in 1957.
Bindeballe Station has a small exhibition on the railway, and offers kitchen, bath and toilet facilities, as well as a small campsite to walkers and cyclists. Keys can be collected from the local shop, which is on the opposite side.
Bindeballe Købmandsgård is a living museum, where you can experience what a village store was like in days of old, and where you can stock up on provisions for the journey.
TO THE NEXT STAGE: BINDEBALLE - VEJEN